Migrate your printers list with printmig

I think that continually learning and growing is the mark of a great IT pro.  In light of that, today I stumbled across a find I won’t forget.  This may be old news to some of you, but if you’re like me, you’ve sometimes spent your time working harder instead of smarter.  Here’s the smarter.  It’s called printmig.  It’s designed for Windows Server, but it works perfectly on XP workstations.  It migrates your printer settings to a new machines. 

At our office, we have about 15 printers set up on our network.  We don’t use a print server (for very good reasons due to the nature of our business).  The problem is, every time I have developed a new image (we have about 5 models of PC out there on the floor, plus at least 3 models of laptop) or edited an old image, I have entered all the printers manually, creating a TCP/IP port, loading drivers, etc. 

No longer do I have to do this.  Printmig allows you to save your entire printer configuration as a .cab file and load it directly onto another machine.  One caveat – you need to make sure any specialty printers (app-specific faxes, Adobe Distiller, etc) have the appropriate program installed before you copy the printers over (I am already accustomed to adding printers after programs in my image dev process, so no loss here). 

One of my rules in tech support is that “if you’re having a problem with it, someone else probably has too.”  So if you’re like me, here’s a little something to help you in your image development.  Enjoy. 

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=9B9F2925-CBC9-44DA-B2C9-FFDBC46B0B17&displaylang=en

 

 

So tell me what you think!  Have you used other printer migration software?  I’d love to hear about it.

Explore posts in the same categories: IT, windows

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Migrate your printers list with printmig”


  1. [...] PC, install all the software required for the standard setup, install our printers (see my post on printmig), and create a default profile which all users will start with when they first log on.  In about [...]


  2. [...] was checking out my blog stats, and saw that someone found my post on printmig through a Google search for “printmig printers.”  So I had to see where I came up on [...]


  3. May I simply just say what a relief to find somebody that truly knows what they are discussing on the
    net. You actually understand how to bring an
    issue to light and make it important. More people
    should check this out and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised that you’re not more popular since you certainly possess the gift.

  4. Ben Power Says:

    Thanks for the good word! I ‘retired’ from techie blogging a few years back but I love hearing when these posts are helpful.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

