So You Wanna Break Into IT? (Part 2 – Production vs. Quality)

This is part 2 of my series of posts for the IT newbie or the person considering a career shift to IT.  Also, for those of us in the business, it could be a look back at why we enjoy IT in the first place.

The second thought on the nature of IT also relates to my earlier career experience.  As I mentioned, I wrote Medicare appeal letters, attempting to convince Medicare to pay claims they had previously denied.  The problem with this is that I cannot work effectively under a never-ending workflow.  That field is totally production-oriented, and it burned me out fast.  I can’t handle knowing that I will never finish what I am doing. 

 

IT is not this way in most respects.  In IT, you typically have a project or a phase of a project, and when it’s done, you are finished with that phase of the project.  I love that.  I also worked in several construction trades in my early 20’s and loved that aspect of those jobs too. 

For instance, one of the projects I frequently have to complete is the creation of a new image for a PC.  No, not a makeover.  An image, if you aren’t familiar, is every bit of software required to deploy a PC to production.  I make a “test” PC, install all the software required for the standard setup, install our printers (see my post on printmig), and create a default profile which all users will start with when they first log on.  In about 4-6 hours, I get to see the results and test it out.  And within about a week of deployment, we can usually work out most of the bugs.  Then it’s done and I feel good about it.

 

If you like to see the results of your work immediately, IT is pretty consistently results-oriented.  On the other hand, I am sure there are some IT jobs in which you don’t quickly see the fruit of your labor.  None I know of come to mind, but if you have one, leave a comment and enlighten us all.

Explore posts in the same categories: IT

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “So You Wanna Break Into IT? (Part 2 – Production vs. Quality)”

  1. Chris Oldroyd Says:

    Enjoyed your articles, thinking of making a jump myself, i have added you to my favourites


Leave a Reply

