Integrated Wi-fi

I have a friend who has been asking me for advice on a new computer build.  That’s not the point of this post, but it did make me reflect on my recent build, which I now use for gaming and music recording.  I have wished more than anything else on this PC for integrated wi-fi, especially since we move it around the house pretty frequently and can’t always get a cord to it. 

BIggest lesson learned from this build (except for the lesson about not using Vista) – if you’ve got the cash, spring a few extra bucks for integrated wi-fi, even if it’s on a desktop PC.  Just my opinion as someone who’s got just about everything ELSE on their PC.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Integrated Wi-fi”

  1. mrosedale Says:

    I was looking into doing this. My MythTV box can is also my file and NFS server. I can stream my recordings from it, but since it is in my living room I have to string a chord. The problem with my setup is that I am streaming music and video and I need constant connection. In the end the speed of 802.11g was probably going to be too slow during peak times and I couldn’t risk a dead or sleeping connection.

    I thought about N, but while the speed is good the cost isn’t at the moment, and I would have to buy the card and the router. If I ever do get around to upgrading I probably will go with integrated wifi as long as it is N.


Leave a Reply

