Amarok 2.0 now released

Amarok is considered by many to be the king of media players. I have always found its interface to get in the way. I also had problems with it being Linux only. Since I use different OS I need a cross platform tool. However, 2.0 looks to have some really compelling features, and now you can use Amarok on Windows and Mac.

Both Windows and Mac are still in Beta, so you might run into some bugs, but this gives you the chance to test this software out regardless of OS affiliation. I am excited to give this great program another try to see if I like it. Don’t forget the other players already discussed on this blog.

First impression is that it integrates well with OSX. When you first install it will ask you to import settings from iTunes. It kept freezing on me at one podcast. So I don’t know what to do about that just yet. As a result it didn’t pull all of my album art and such, but really the only program I have found that does that automatically is Banshee.

picture-8

It is pretty self explanatory how to do things like download album art or create play-lists. The organization looks pretty good as well.

picture-10

The big thing to explore is the “Internet” tab. Check out the settings there.

picture-11

Give it a try and let me know what you think.

Cheers

Explore posts in the same categories: IT, Linux, Vista, windows

One Comment on “Amarok 2.0 now released”

  1. bfpower Says:

    I will have to give this a try. I haven’t used it on Ubuntu, but I’m always looking for a speedy media player.


Leave a Reply

