Another issue with my web design textbook

You might have read my December post quibbling with the author/editor of my web design textbook.  It’s happening again, but this time it’s not just a quibble – it’s just plain wrong.

In this case, I’m feeling a little ill.  Here’s the quote (emphasis added): “The second difference [between Apache and IIS] is that Apache is open-source software, meaning that it is non-proprietary and thus license-free.”  I’m sorry?  When did open source start meaning there’s no license?  Have you ever heard of the GPL?  Creative Commons?  In Apache’s case, it has its own Apache license, which is compatible with GPL 3 (though not with GPL 1 and 2). 

I guess the moral of the story is that I should do my homework to avoid writing about things I don’t understand.

This reminds me.  I haven’t been posting much due to a final exam tomorrow in this very course.  I’ve got a long way to go, so I’m signing off.

Ben

Explore posts in the same categories: Culture/Technology, IT, open source, writing

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

