Ubuntu Releases 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Ubuntu released its latest version 9.04 codenamed Jaunty Jackalope. Remember that Ubuntu releases on a six month rotation, but have a two year cycle for LTS (Long Term Support) versions. This new version looks like a good step forward for the development, but if you are using Ubuntu in production services I would keep with 8.04LTS. Ars has a good rundown of the new features. Of particular interest to me is the Netbook Remix version. I have been using the prerelease of this on 8.10. I think this is a bold new step to get Ubuntu specifically tailored for the netbook and I like the design a lot.

As always Ubuntu Servers are bogged down. Expect huge delays and dropped packets if you do the upgrade over the web. One easy way around this is to choose mirrors other than the default (MIT’s is usually running pretty fast). I may drudge up the instructions for upgrading over bittorrent as well.

Explore posts in the same categories: Culture/Technology, IT, Linux, open source, Product Reviews, Tech News

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Ubuntu Releases 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope”

  1. bfpower Says:

    All right! I had quit using Ubuntu when the laptop I had Heron on crashed a hard drive. I may have to check it out. How is the suspend/resume? I know that was a rough point with earlier versions.

  2. mrosedale Says:

    Yea I don’t know about suspend/resume. Don’t use that on my vm. But yea I would check out Ubuntu again. It has made some great strides. I was just reading today about an update they did to SCREEN. It looks awesome!


Leave a Reply

