IT workers and health

It’s an important topic, I think. ┬áSee the link for some more information on popular office problems.

http://blogs.techrepublic.com.com/10things/?p=374

Explore posts in the same categories: IT

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “IT workers and health”

  1. mrosedale Says:

    This is very good information. Fortunately I avoid most of those pitfalls. It was better when I worked at the U of I because I was right next to a window and I worked in 3 different buildings. Now I do get the eye strain, but other than that I am pretty good. I run to supplement the long days sitting and walk from the subway to work and home (rather than take the shuttle). I am considering riding my bike, but it would actually be a long ride.

    The person who really needs to watch out is your mountain dew drinking coder who spends 8 hours straight debugging code.

  2. bfpower Says:

    “The person who really needs to watch out is your mountain dew drinking coder who spends 8 hours straight debugging code.”

    Yeah true. In recent months (since the hiring freeze started) I’ve been at my desk a lot more, and I’m paying for it. I’ve been dealing with the eye strain and headaches as well as some weight gain (for the first time in my life!). Christina keeps telling me to ride my bike to work… Probably should – it’s less than a half mile, so I should be walking anyway.

  3. mrosedale Says:

    I’ve always had weight fluctuation. Problems of having a slow metabolism. But yea if I were you and lived that close to work I would either walk or ride my bike. For me it is riding through treacherous streets in Boston and Cambridge about 7-9 miles to get to work and back. I could easily ride my bike, but I really don’t want to :-). What I need to do is do it on a Saturday to see how long it takes.


Leave a Reply

