HTC is a friend of Android

HTC the cell phone maker was the first company to come out with an Android phone with the G1. They now have two more announced. This latest one has no certain date in North America, but it looks good. I think I might want one.

The specifications look good:

Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE
Bluetooth® 2.0 with Enhanced Data Rate and A2DP for wireless stereo headsets
Wi-Fi®: IEEE 802.11 b/g
HTC ExtUSB™ (11-pin mini-USB 2.0 and audio jack in one)
3.5 mm audio jack
5.0 megapixel color camera with auto focus
Talk time:

*
Up to 420 minutes for WCDMA
*
Up to 470 minutes for GSM

Standby time:

*
Up to 750 hours for WCDMA
*
Up to 440 hours for GSM
microSD™ memory card (SD 2.0 compatible)

This is certainly going to be a compelling phone. It is no secret that I like Android. This added to the their previous phone leads me to believe that Android could take Apple’s iPhoneOS to task. I’m thinking about jumping into mobile development and Android is looking way better than Apple right now to me.

Explore posts in the same categories: IT, Linux, open source, Product Reviews, Tech News

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “HTC is a friend of Android”

  1. bfpower Says:

    Interesting you mention development. I think Android could definitely make headway by attracting developers. But pessimistically, in our culture it’s not about the better OS, it’s about customer base and what developers stand to earn from their work. And as we’ve observed in the desktop OS world, end-user familiarity can keep a very large customer base hooked on one system despite its limitations. They need to attract more than just developers; they need users. Otherwise they are well-poised to become the Linux of the mobile world.

    But then again, the average technical IQ of a business user is going up as the new generation is going career. I would just hate to see such a great product be sidelined because they weren’t Apple.

    Apple is becoming quite the institution. =D

  2. mrosedale Says:

    bfpower, that is sort of my point. I think as the hardware gets better it will attract more users. It already attracts a lot of developers because it is technologically more superior and more open allowing greater flexibility. In this case, “if you build it they will come,” may be exactly right. Android may evolve in spite of Apple, and when you look at a phone of this caliber (5mp camera no competition) Apple has everything to loose.

    I’m not quite sure what “Linux of the mobile world” means. First it kind of is already given the fact that it is open source and essentially runs a customized Linux kernel, but asside from that I see good times ahead for Linux in the desktop world so maybe you meant it as a compliment? ;-)No I know what you mean, but I refuse to believe it for either OS. In the desktop world I love my Mac, but the way things have been handled on the iPhone I think there is plenty of room for Apple to fall from grace (if Apple did those same things on their Desktop there is no way anyone would use it). Smartphones for the masses is still a new institution. Android is in the best place to eat up the market dissatisfied with illogical application blocks and the like. The biggest barrier to Android is exclusive deals at the moment. T-mobile is anything but universal. Getting on a better carrier and people realizing its openess is a compliment not a detriment I think people will come around.

    In the mean time I don’t want to be left on the sideline when the boom actually happens :-). So I’ll start developing now.

  3. bfpower Says:

    “In the mean time I don’t want to be left on the sideline when the boom actually happens . So I’ll start developing now.” This is a good point – I just hope the boom happens. And I suppose that comparing the iPhone’s market hold to Windows is not a fair comparison. And the phone is really an awesome sounding device. The camera itself could really set it apart.

    As far as the Linux comment, what I mean is that having a better product does not guarantee that the masses will use it. And yes, Linux use is on the rise, but most people seem either to not know anything about it, or to think it’s just for the technically minded (this used to be true, though with newer incarnations I don’t think it is anymore. Jaunty is easier to install than XP, IMO).

  4. mrosedale Says:

    I was just giving you a hard time about the Linux comment :-). So you know I don’t take it personal. In an ideal world I dream of all three major OSes being equal. In an ideal world there would still be MS and Apple. That ideal world can still be achieved, but it is still a ways away.

    I am serious about Android development. Since there are fewer applications there is room to compete. Already in the iPhone space there are de facto standards that make it hard to enter at this stage of the game. You either need to do something earth shattering or something new. I mean how many twitter apps do we need for the iPhone, but on Android there may still be room for a new twitter app. The OS and Hardware allow for a lot more than Apple does as well. Maybe the only draw back is that an app designed for the G1 may not translate to other Android phones, but that, hopefully, would be a minor issue.


Leave a Reply

